Judson student achievements recognized at Honors Convocation | Judson College


Judson student achievements recognized at Honors Convocation

Marion, Ala.–Judson College hosted its annual Honors Convocation on April 4, 2017. The ceremony, held in Ramsay-McCrummen Chapel, honored students who  “demonstrated a commitment to excellence in academics and in service”, according to Scott Bullard, Senior Vice President and Academic Dean.

In his remarks, Bullard invited students to “cheer for [their] classmates” or even “pat [themselves] on the back for a job well done”, but he reminded them that the ultimate end of their college experience should be less about earning academic accolades and more about growing in wisdom and service to others. “Our lives of study,” Bullard said, “are not ends in and of themselves. They are not solely about positioning us for jobs that will make us financially prosperous. Let us be hopeful that our actions each day in this place produce in us wisdom and love of God and others that will empower us to be servants of one another and our communities in the days ahead.”
2017 Honors Convocation
Faculty members presented the following awards to outstanding students in their disciplines:

Outstanding Art Student – Chasely Matmanivong, Montgomery, Ala.
Outstanding Senior in Biology – Katie Owens, Hanceville, Ala.
Outstanding Students in Business – Victoria Douglas, Washington, D.C.; Hannah Chastain Sloan, Woodstock, Ala.
Outstanding Student in Chemistry – Kristina Gentry, Warner Robbins, Ga.
Outstanding Student in Criminal Justice – Ariel Billingsley, Selma, Ala.
Outstanding Teacher Candidate in Educator Preparation Program – Sarah Green, Sumiton, Ala.
Outstanding Student in English – Victoria Douglas, Jacksonville, Ark.
Academic Excellence Award in Equine Science – Dawn Bridgers, Prattville, Ala.
Outstanding Freshman Award in Equine Science – Kirsten Britnell, Hoover, Ala.
Horsewoman of the Year in Equine Science – Emily Dickerson, Madison, Ala.
Outstanding Freshman in History – Sierra Driver, Nashville, Tenn.
Outstanding Sophomore in History – Liz Alsobrook, Lady Lake, Fla.
Outstanding Junior in History – Rachel Fitts, Gadsden, Ala.
Outstanding Senior in History – Marianna Nichols, Iuka, Miss.
Outstanding Student in General Social Science Program – Leslie Ann Pope, Gulf Shores, Ala.
Outstanding Student in Pre-Law Program – Lillie Hobson, Kinsey, Ala.
Outstanding Student in Political Science Minor – Lillie Hobson, Kinsey, Ala.
Outstanding Student in History Minor – Candace Soden, Montgomery, Ala.
Outstanding Student in Journalism – Jordan Ross, Grand Bay, Ala.
Outstanding Student in Music – Seng Hkawn, Myitkyina, Kachin
Outstanding Students in Nursing – April Tucker, Tuscaloosa, Ala.; Kassie Simmons, Centreville, Ala.; Kizzie Washington, Newbern, Ala.; Ashley Middlebrooks, Brent, Ala.; and Rachel Sandusky, Madison, Ala.
Outstanding Student in Psychology – Tara Kamphuis, Strathmore, Alberta, Canada
Outstanding Student in Religious Studies – Marianna Nichols, Iuka, Miss.
Outstanding Student in Social Work (Field)– Tyne Amos, Umatilla, Fla.
Outstanding Student in 100-Level Spanish – Jordan Hooks, Cullman, Ala.
Outstanding Student in 200-Level Spanish – Shana Dupree, New Market, Ala.
Outstanding Student in 300-Level Spanish – Tyne Amos, Umatilla, Fla.
Outstanding Student in 400-Level Spanish – Kristina Gentry, Warner Robbins, Ga.

Special awards were also presented:

Beta Beta Beta Award (Biology Honor Society) – Payton Luker, Warrior, Ala.
Delta Omicron Award (Music fraternity) – Kaitlyn Garrison, Thorsby, Ala.
Outstanding Member in Kappa Delta Epsilon Beta Rho Chapter – Brittany Johnson, Opelika, Ala.
Kathleen White Schad Writing Award – Kate Wright, Lathrop, Mo.
Mary Whitfield Lee Memorial Award (Athletics) – Katie Speer, Cullman, Ala.
Richard Fullerton Award (Chemistry) – Valentyna Trull, Northport, Ala.
Sallie McAllister Curb Arnold Art Award – Incoming Freshman – Erica Garrett
Sallie McAllister Curb Arnold Art Award – Current Student – Nicole Stewart, Saltillo, Miss.
Association of Christian Librarians Research Award – Victoria Douglas, Washington, D.C.

For more information about each award or recipient, contact Donna Bennett in the Academic Dean’s Office at 334.683.5104.