Judson Delta Omicron chapter welcomes new members

The Judson College music department is proud to announce that eight students were pledged to Delta Psi Chapter of Delta Omicron, a national professional music fraternity, on November 3. The ceremony was held in the President’s dining room in Archibald Hall. New pledge members are Blair Carrier of Robertsdale, Ala.; Christy Miller of Mulga, Ala.; Kaitlyn Garrison of Thorsby, Ala.; Sara Jean Lane of Conyers, Ga.; Jaw Seng Zin of Kachin State, Myanmar; Destany Sherman of Decatur, Ala.; Jordan Ross of Grand Bay, Ala.; and Sarah White of Valley, Ala.

After receiving pink pledge ribbons to be worn every day until the initiation ceremony, the new pledges signed their name into a book previously signed by all pledge members of Delta Psi from past years at Judson College. The new pledges will become full members of the Delta Psi Chapter in the coming months. Each will receive a gold pin in the shape of a lyre at her initiation. Judson College’s Delta Psi Chapter is an award-winning chapter nationally and is recognized for its various achievements in musical events, charitable work, and outstanding character and musicianship of its members.

Dr. Betty Campbell and Dr. Sadie Frazier, the co-advisors of the Delta Psi Chapter, conducted the ceremony for the pledge members, along with current members Carol Nichols and Laura Thompson.

Any music major or minor may become a member of Delta Omicron, provided that she maintains at least a B in music classes, and a C in other classes music in the previous semester before she is inducted.

Leave a Reply